Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-27 - 12:45 a.m.

i made friends today in philosophy by yelling at that religion girl.

you see, we were discussing the concept of egoism and whether or not the concept of morality is objective or subjective. most of the class believed that morality is a subjective thing because we all have different ideas of what is moral. the basics of egoism is that we all act in our own sense of self-interest. so, if we all act in our own self-interest, then how can there be an objective set of mrorals?

christian girl kept saying that our morals should be based on the laws, by laws meaning religious laws and the governmental laws she thinks are okay. this kept boggling me all frickin' class. i eventually got fed up with her and i just busted out "WE DON'T ALL BELIEVE IN YOUR RELIGION!" and i continued to yell that she was arguing on both sides of the fence by saying that religion and laws are the basis of morals even when she complains that there are unjust laws blahblahblah. when i was done yelling, one guy turned around and shook my hand and a few other people were like "yeah! you showed her!"

i pretty much refrained from talking after that because i felt like i had done enough damage. i did apologize to her after class too. y'know, to be a nice guy. even if it makes me feel sick sometimes.

after class i ended up talking to a few of the other guys in my class who thought it was cool that i did yell. i dunno, i guess it's just one of those things where i get fed up so i do what everyone else wants to do. i think i'll email my teacher to apologize to her too. what the fuck is wrong with me?

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!