Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-05-02 - 11:37 p.m.

So, i remember this one time i went to a GameStop or a Software Etc. (it doesn't matter, they're the same store kinda like Waldenbooks and Borders Express) in california once, and i remember thinking, "god damn, it really feels like every single one of these damn stores, the employees don't know what the hell they're doing." and then i got a job with that company...

so yeah, i work at a gamestop now. all the way out in fucking hawaii kai, in the towne center to be exact.

judah finally got his own store so he called me and asked me if i wanted to interview to be his assistant manager. i might've relayed this story before, but whatever, it's quick. anyway, i took the opportunity, i interviewed for the position with the area manager, this guy blane who is judah's age, and i got the job based on my outstanding customer service abilities and judah's word. the first couple of weeks were really really rough. i was thrown into the fire of ala moana. that was a really bad time for me because i was not prepared to learn everything that quickly. but i stayed the course because i knew i'd be fine once i got out to my store.

so yeah, once i got out to my store, the normal ryan took over. i became more relaxed, the register [which we call, oddly enough, the POS (Point Of Sales)] is a p.o.s. (piece of shit), but once i was out there, my mind cleared up and i was able to figure it out.

boy, i really hope i don't get disciplined for speaking out against our dumbass registers by some snooping program that GameStop might have up and running on the internet looking for employees bad mouthing the company.

don't get me wrong, i love this job. the pay is great, the opportunities seem like they're out there (unlike at borders where there were hardly even any chances to be promoted to senior bookseller), and the customers are some of the nicest people i've ever met--unlike at the bookstore, the customers don't have a chip on their shoulder and feel like they need to exercise their percieved intelligence upon anyone who should try to help them. plus, not to mention the location. yeah, it's really really really far away from home, but i never catch traffic in either direction and the scenery is just so beautiful. i'm used to looking at ATM's/center stage when i worked at Waldenbooks, then Carousel Candyland at Kahala, and the parking garage when i was training at Ala Moana again. now i get to see the sky, the trees, and a mountain. plus, when i'm getting my lunch, i can take a quick peak at the marina which is on the backside of our shopping center. it's so great!

and the staff me and judah have is great. there's some rough areas, some rougher than others, but overall, we're very pleased with our team. the biggest concern though is the third key holder (there's three key holders, me and judah being one and two). our Senior Game Advisor is a little slow to learn the POS which is kind of irritating because he'll be running his own shifts and he'll have the other employees looking to him for answers when he's looking to us for the same answers. in fact, one time, on a day off i had one of them call me because they needed help. but it's all good because i think we can adapt and overcome this situation.

but there's some characters that i work with. i have three high school kids that work with us. but really, it's two of them that i want to talk about, because they remind me so much of myself at their age. both of them want to join the marine corps. infact, one of them called me tonight as a reference to her recruiter. but yeah... the kids are all right, just a little misguided about the glamour of the military life. it's almost like looking back at myself four years ago. but because of that, i've kind of taken to them. i really like the both of them.

the other high school kid, he's my boy at work because the's the only other person there who watches sports, so we talk about it all the time because i've got no one else to. plus he's a real good kid.

another employee of mine is a college student, he's a year older than me and he's just super. he's probably my best game advisor. man, i wish he had the desire to be a SGA because i know judah would jump at the chance to bring this guy up to full time. in certain areas he just destroys me. the only thing that's holding him back is he doesn't want to be anything other than a GA, which is fine because he's close to graduating so i'm not going to fault him there. plus his girlfriend told him "i wish i had single friends to introduce to ryan because he's cute" or something like that. yeah... i was really flattered but i also stand by my statement that she probably needs to get perscription for her glasses updated.

there's more to my staff, but those are the people that really stand out to me. the rest of them are great people too.

but yeah.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!