Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-07-04 - 12:35 a.m.

want to talk about awkward? take this conversation i had with a customer tonight...

lately, 5 out of 10 customers say "you're always here!" or somthing to that effect when they talk to me. granted it's typically just a figure of speech, but half the time (so 2.5 out of 10 people) it feels like they truly mean it.

anyway, tonight, this one customer, donna (not the Anty Donna of ex-gf randi), came in. i know her because i helped her and her family get one of their first game systems for her two kids as well as subsequent systems. so, basically i've known her and her family for around a year now so i guess there's some comfort-level between donna and me. anyways, maybe a month or two ago, donna told me that she always sees me walking around in the morning when she hangs out and drinks coffee at the starbucks with her friends. so while i was talking to her about that, she told me she was there because she would talk to her girlfriends because she was splitting up with her husband. i guess it caught me off guard because i had no idea they were having problems, but that's probably because i only knew them as customers.

so, anyway, tonight...

tonight donna came in and as i was helping her she started off by talking about how i'm always around. she said she saw me at 8 in the morning one day, and wondered "what's he doing here? the store's not even open yet!" and then when she came in tonight she was suprised to see me because it seems like i never leave. so i told her that i'm at the store like 50 hours a week, so she told me "wow, your girlfriend must hate you" to which i responded, "yup, that's why she broke up with me." which isn't entirely true, it's probably more the opposite since dhyani wanted less to do with me. but yeah... it just reminded me that i was dumped and single. but yeah... donna took it the wrong way for herself. i guess she reminded herself that she feels like she's been dumped and shit so she went off about how "yeah, i know what it's like to be dumped and taken a dump on..."

i'll be honest, i had an image of a cleveland steamer run through my mind for a half-a-second. i'm terrible...

but we kinda shared a moment of combined misery.

so before she left she went on this mild tangent about how she really had nothing to do tonight and how the kids were with the dad, and how her wild night alone as at gamestop and how pathetic that was so i made a joke about how she could work there. i don't think that settled well with her because she blurted out "can you imagine me working here?" i felt like saying "i know... me too..." but i bit my tongue. she then went on about how i should go enjoy my life out and get out and do something fun for the both of us.

honestly, i didn't think anything of the conversation. it just felt like she was kinda sad that she spent her night alone at gamestop on a whim. and besides, i felt the same way like "jeez... this is all i'm doing with my life?" you know, that same though i've been having for the past three entries?

apparently donna did.

she called me back before the store closed and said "hey, ryan. this is donna. i just wanted to appologize for how i acted." wha??? "i was such a bitch to you back there."

"no, no. don't worry about it."

"no, really. i'm sorry. i went off at you like that. it's just that i had a really shitty day (she actually said 'shitty') and i was listening to linkin park on the way down and i was just in a bad mood. i didn't mean to go off on you like that. i'm really sorry."

so i let her appologize and she finished the conversation wtih "if you ever need to talk to someone you can talk to me because i know what it's like to be dumped."

i don't know why that conversation felt so weird that i remembered parts of it so vividly. i guess it's because part of it felt so god damned true to me. another part might be because i've had the hugest milf crush on donna since i first met her. i don't feel like i could do anything because she's the proverbial dime of milf's... well that and she's one of my customers and i don't feel like i should be hitting on any customer now that i'm management.

god, donna... i love you. too bad you're a milf and a customer... not like i'd get to know you any other way though... oh well... i'll just have to smoke more in front of her so she'll seem i'm all bad ass and cool like john mcclane.

want to talk about odd coincidences?

i just went down to get my laundry and someone must've come home and while they were parking their car they had the window down and the stereo was playing the chorus of "Oh Donna" by Ritchie Valens. weird...

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!