Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-09-14 - 12:03 p.m.

i'm back, baby!

the convention i went to was lame. it's hard for me to get a bonner about video games first of all. it wasn't so much a manager's convention as much as it was a trade show for all the game publishers. there was one day where they talked to us about the company and us as managers. that's it-one day. the rest of the time it was nothing but vendor training classes with them telling us about what was coming out for the holiday season... which is fine, because it's what the conferences is really about.

the worst thing about the convention was the mainland managers. they're all so fucking... immature. it was really annoying. all these kids (who're my age), all they wanted to do was hoot and holler at the games coming out and shit, pushing other people to get ahead in line and all kinds of stupid kid shit. it was so annoying. jeez, just grow up...

at least the room was nice... except for the bed. the bed was too soft for me. but that's just me. otherwise it was a nice bed. it had this little night light on the headboard so i could sit up and read in bed at night. that was my favorite touch. and the TV in the room was wicked awesome. it was this huge flat screen. awesome.

but anyway, i was such a homebody up in vegas. i didn't go out, i didn't gamble... in the few hours we had off, i spent sleeping, reading in my room, or watching tv. i didn't want to go out. i don't like that kind of night life. besides, if i have some time off, i'd rather spend it relaxing rather than running around trying to do everything. it just seems... counter-productive. although, i did spend one night talking to donna on the phone.

i texted her one of the days because i was having a shitty time in vendor classes, and she said she was having a shitty day too, so we ended up talking on the phone that night for a few hours.

the other store managers found out about that and when rich found out, he asked me how much older she was than i am, seventeen years. he said "before you put your foot in your mouth, my first serious girlfriend was seventeen years older than me." that set off this whole joke that'll probably run for a long time. apparently, rich said he met the woman when he was 23 and my 23rd birthday is coming up real soon... and the best part of this whole thing is that at the conference, one day we were both wearing long sleeve collared black shirts, we've both got glasses, and now that he's clean shaved, there's a slight resemblance between the two of us (only because we're both asian). the similarities got to the point where he started to call me "mini-me." it was funny as hell to everyone else there too.

but to you guys, you'd probably need to know the both of us. i guess it would help.

oh, plus there's the thing where i've been called "rich jr." because i'm so sarcastic, just like rich.

so, today i went to go have coffee with donna this morning. we came to the conclussion that i'm 22-going-on-40. it's weird though because there's no sexual tension between us like everyone thinks there should be. (well, it's not really weird, just annoying that everyone thinks it.) one of the guys that works at starbucks, howard, keeps asking donna about me. at first i thought it was just because he knew donna as a customer at starbucks, and me as one of the guys who works at gamestop. but when me and donna started having coffee in the morning a few times a week, he started to ask her how she knew me, then he started to make fun of how we drank coffee all the time together. in his mind i guess we became a couple. so, donna thinks that it's because howard actually has a crush on me. i'm wont to agree. he does come off a little (a lot) gay. plus, when donna said something about sarah working with me, he made a comment about her being a "bad girl" or something. it's like he's becoming protective of me. plus he's talking about me behind my back (sort of...). he told deneen, one of donna's friends whom i've had coffee with too, that donna should get a personalized mug and put my picture in it. plus, while i was at my conference, donna made it sound like he was talking about me everytime she went in there making a comment about how she couldn't have coffee with me since i was gone.

kinda awkward, but kinda funny too.

and since i said something about sarah...

donna thinks that sarah has a crush on me. actually, donna "knows" sarah has a crush on me. it makes me feel a little weird because I'M HER BOSS. it doesn't really matter much to me though because i don't think she's the type of girl for me anyway.

anyways... back to me... like this hasn't been all about me anyway...

so, donna (i guess it hasn't been all about me...) sees me as that 23-going-on-40 thing and she wonders why i'm like that. she tells me that her friends wonder how she can enjoy talking to me so much. for them, all they see is the age gap for the two of us. i can see their point, but at the same time, to me, i just consider her a friend. she's a little older than the rest of my friends, but she's young in heart and soul i guess. she genuinely likes me for who i am as a person though, which is nice. y'know i'm not just a young fling thing for her, and she sees me as an equal which is nice. it's not like i get that from every parent that comes in to my store.

i guess i've kinda misrepresented my relationship with her at times though. there's times where i make it seem like she's a cougar and i'm like that guy from the graduate. but, in reality, while i do find her very attractive, i also find her as a valuable friend.

but, as always, i succumb to rabbit ears. so when howard started to make those comments about how she's my sugar mama, they kinda got on my nerves. i know it's mostly out of fun, but it's still annoying... especially since i've never even seen her outside of the town center. seriously. we've never run into each other at the mall or met up to see a movie or anything. i've seen her in my store or starbucks, that's it. there's like a 100 yrd area, a football field, that we've seen each other, in the whole time i've known her. sure, we've talked on the phone a couple of times, and we text each other a bunch, but that's it. seriously... that's it.

oh well... it is what it is, and people can believe whatever they want to make of it.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!