Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-10-29 - 1:08 a.m.

i actually struck up a conversation with a girl i don't know! daymn!

i love football...

and the two things are related too!

at the UH game last night/saturday night (it's my whole, "i haven't gone to sleep yet, so it's still today even though the clock says it's tomorrow" deal) i wanted to know who won the Cal @ ASU game, and they weren't showing it on the big screen... plus i wanted to talk to the girl who wears the oregon colors that sits in the row behind us (who shall now be known forever more, or until i find out her name, known as OrGrl... or until i figure out something better... okay so i'm not as good at this as randi is with her BF:DS).

anyway, so after wondering whether or not i had the balls to do it for three quarters, asking mike if it was a good idea, and getting a pep talk from donna through text messaging, i finally got up the nerve in the 4th quarter during a time out or something to turn around and ask Pac-10 girl if she knew who won the game. she knew (ASU 31 Cal 20), and she also knew all the BCS rankings and who won and lost. she knew more about it than i did. it was love i tell you, love!

during the next lull in action, i turned around to talk to her more. but i gave up after that because i didn't have anything else to say and i was pre-occupied with the game ending so i could go to work for the stupid midnight release of Guitar Hero III. stupid ass game...

but fuck work!

hehehe... but(t) fuck work...

last week was the DVP (divisional vice president) and RM (regional manager) visit. i worked about 60 hours in preparation for that visit. 50 at my store and the other 10 with rich at ala moana. lots of work, yo. i think blane appreciates me more now though. i think he knows how much i think of myself as one of his soldiers now. spending 10 hours at another store... not to mention the signage request...

rich's store ate a couple of signs that were a big part of the marketing set for this week. so all incognito, blane told rich to take the signs from my store before the DVP came down and noticed that they were missing. when i came down to drop them off, blane told me that he wasn't trying to throw me under the bus, but he said that it was because my sales floor was that good, they wouldn't notice it. Blane constantly says my sales floor is a 9/10. it's really nice to hear that because he's so anal retentive about that kind of stuff.

but that also gave me an ulcer on thursday night.

i was expecting a visit on thursday from the RM, and when daigle, the kahala manager called at 6 pm to say that they left his store 5 minutes ago, i was a wreck waiting for them. too bad they didn't show up. at all. at 7 or so, i'm standing outside chain smoking, calling rich to ask if he knew what was going on. when rich tells me that blane was back at his store, i guess i got kinda loud. loud enough for blane to start laughing in the background at me flipping out that i got stood up. blane explained to me that he felt they didn't need to visit me because A) i wasn't even a priority from the start of the visit with a $1.2 million dollar store and 2) my store looks so good that it wouldn't really need much in the way of extra attention.

but in the aftermath of the visits, rich told me in confidence that the DVP wants another ASM (assistant store manager) in ala moana pronto... even if it means pulling an existing store manager out of their store and paying them what they're worth. i think i'm on the very short list. i know most of the staff from all the time i spend there in my off time talking to rich; pulling me out of my store would have the least impact dollar-wise because i have the lowest grossing store on the island; i have a strong personal relationship with rich; and i live right up the freakin' street. i've discussed this with my dad, and he thinks it'd be a good idea because moving from a sub-$1.5M store into a managerial position in the #1A store in the nation, only looks good. yeah, i lose the title of Store Manager, but i think it'd be a step-up. plus it shows that i continue to be the ultimate team player within the district. part of me wants to go because i want to be in that line of fire again. hawaii kai is nice because i have all the time in the world to get shit done and i love the community and the staff i've put together out there. no more morning coffee with donna... no more gerrard... no more chris and nick mai... no more terrence and harrison... etc... but the ability to advance my carreer? how can i turn that down? gotta look out for #1 sometimes, huh?

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!