Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2008-05-17 - 11:12 p.m.

last sunday i taught chris and sabrina a valuable lesson.

NEVER TAKE ANYONE ELSE'S PERSCRIPTION MEDICINE!

i've had this cough for what feels like a month, and the whole time donna's been telling me that she has some "really good" cough medicine. so, on mother's day, she invited me over to spend the day with her and her two other children (chris and sabrina, read: real children).

so, while we're all eating a big breakfast of portugese sausage, bacon, rice, boiled eggs, toast, and fresh squeezed orange juice i start coughing. donna walks away and comes back with this bottle of cough syrup with codine in it.

i'd repeatedly told her that i don't want it because i don't take other people's medicine, and she always let me go, but now that i was in her den, it was right there in front of me. oh well, so i took it.

"and you took it..." (quick, what movie is that line from? i think tom skerritt said it.)

after that, i still kept coughing, but i did feel kinda numb. i know i felt numb because when i was wrestling with both chris and sabrina, sabrina bit my arm and i didn't really feel it. so, anyway, the three of us were playing tag outside when i started to feel really feint like i was going to either pass out, throw up, or both.

i eventually did all of the above.

i walked inside while donna and the kiddies were cleaning up their praying mantis habitats, and proceeded to throw up in donna's pristine toilet. i felt really bad because the porcelain is so clean in her toilets, and here i was violating it with my breakfast.

i actually felt worse about throwing up in her toilet than i did about myself just being super wicked sick.

i eventually went to go lie down in the kids play room while chris and sabrina played quietly behind me. i eventually woke up to sabrina doing something next to me which lead to me feeling really sick again and throwing up in another toilet (great i just puked in two clean toilets). sabrina and chris are so good though, i asked sabrina for a glass of water and chris opened up the roll of toilet paper for me while i continued to throw up. those children are great.

anyway, after that last volley, i was able to relax and play hangman and card games with sabrina until one of the praying mantis eggs hatched and they watched roughly 100 something mantis' squirm out of an egg.

which was nice because it let me go back to sleep.

but yeah, in between heaves of throw up, i managed to tell the two of donna's kids "this is why you don't take anyone else's perscription medicine."

i think i scarred them for life.

yay!

i probably gave donna a pretty good scare too.

but on to happier news...

and by happier, i mean, nothing life altering or even really relevant.

i think my writing has changed slightly because of the book i'm reading "can i at least keep my jersey?" by paul shirley.

that wasn't the news, btw.

oh, and chuck palahniuck has a new book coming out next week!

also not the news.

i actually talked to coffee girl in something other than "can i just have a large coffee?" and "can i have a lid on that, please?" and the obligitory "thank you."

on thursday afternoon, with absolutely no intention of seeing her, just wanting a cup of coffee on the way home from work, i stopped in at the coffee shop and she was working, training a new girl. as soon as i walked into the door, she told the girl to get a large coffee ready. while i was paying for it, i asked her "do you work like every day?"

"no, just four times a week."

"oh. i guess i'm just lucky then."

she might've smiled a little when i said that, but i didn't notice if she did because i said it with my head and eyes down because i'm like that.

"yeah, i just happen to be working whenever you two (meaning me and donna) come in."

and then i had my ususal awkward exit. there was a group of old people having a meeting in there and one of them was blocking my exit. so i stood there waiting for them to move, but they're old and don't move very fast... or at all if you're young because they hate you for being young because old people are codgery and shit.

but anyway.... now i need to talk to her according to donna.

that was the news i was talking about, btw.

but backtracking one day... at karate, i think the other parents are beginning to take a personal liking to me. one of them asked me how old i was because he said he knew some single girls, but they're all about 28, which is too old for me. oh well. it felt a little awkward for me because i didn't expect any of them to care about me because all i do is come, drink coffee and say stupid things to donna and make her laugh. either that or i'm the guy who people ask about video games.

so yeah... there's those awkward exits for me again... how do i end this diary?

the answer to the question about what movie was that line from? "Top Gun."

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!