Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-05-07 - 11:17 p.m.

swear to god this happened today:

on my way to work i got pulled over. the cop walks up to my window and says "i pulled you over because your safety check's expired. it's a $50 citation. is there any reason why it's expired?"

"no sir. there isn't."

"i'm not gonna write you up for it because your bumper sticker says 'powered by octane 87' but get it taken care of."

"yes sir, i will."

i don't know how these things happen to me, but they do. the whole time before the officer got to my window i was thinking "okay, if this is because of my safety check, i deserve it." i was all set to acknoweldge that i deserved any tickets that came to me.

i guess it's the vibe i give off. i mean, i don't mind getting tickets because if i break the law, i deserve to get the ticket.

i got into a mild argument with carlie about this tonight. her stance on it is shouldn't the officers be doing other things that are more important than writing up tickets for me? shouldn't they be catching real criminals?

my argument is that by taking to the road you agree to follow those rules and if you break the rules, you're a criminal.

maybe not a criminal on the same scale as a thief or a murderer, but then again, the consequences aren't quite the same either. it's not like cops aren't out trying to catch "real criminals" either. i mean, i escaped getting pulled over for an expired safety check for six months. i think i've broken the law long enough to have earned that citation had i gotten it. if you knowingly break the law, then why not accept the consequences? what makes you think you're above the law? no one is above the law, or at the very least, no one should be.

if i got caught stealing for my hungry family, i would accept the punishment that i recieve because i know stealing is illegal. i also don't think i would do it in the first place because it's wrong and i know it's wrong.

*sigh*

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!