Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-10-12 - 11:57 p.m.

this is the re-write i've come up with....

(tentatively titled): A Perfect Hug
She�s 5�1� which automatically makes her the perfect height for a hug. Any taller and our heads would probably butt; any shorter and I�d have to stoop down uncomfortably. She�s the perfect height. She�s also slender and athletic from playing soccer in college. If she didn�t play sports, then she might�ve suffered from the Freshman Fifteen and our arms wouldn�t wrap and come to a nice resting spot on the back of the shoulder. As far as I know, she�s the prototype for a perfect hug.
She opens her arms letting me know that it�s okay for me to hug her good bye. She steps in towards me, closing the space between us. I take a half a step towards her to do my part to close the gap too. My arms cross over hers and I can feel the perfection of this hug forming. Just as I imagined, her head is the right height to rest in the crook of my shoulder. Not so tall that her hair would be tickling my nose. Not so low that I�d be afraid she could hear my heart beating. Her arms cross under mine and I can feel them pulling herself slightly into my body. I can feel her open palms just under my shoulder blades. I can feel her chest pressed up against mine. None of this is sexual; none of it means more than good bye.
She�s leaving for the east coast to go back to her division I soccer team, to her Ivy League school, to her Ivy League boyfriend� I�m standing here wondering if all perfect hugs feel like this.


comments, as always, are extremely welcome.

i was inspired by Francis Ponge's "The Pleasures of the Door" and Julio Cortazar's "Instructions on How to Cry."

Ponge's poem more from a descriptive point and Cortazar's from a narrative persepctive. i'm sure you could google both of them.

it finally clicked on what i was supposed to do with this by talking to carlie about what was wrong with my other one. that one could make a decent short story if i really expanded on it i think, but this one captures the hug and only the hug a lot better.

so, yeah, remember how i don't do transitions?

alia's banging some 32 year old guy now. you know how i know this? because two sepparate girls told me that. seriously, like i wanted to know that in the first place? like i even wanted to know if she was dating anyone to begin with, and then you have to go and fucking tell me she's having sex with the guy too? does anyone else not remember how pissed off i was that she wouldn't put out at all? (well, except for that one time, but there was a lot of booze involved.)

ugh... and both those stupid chicks were talking about it infront of me like it wasn't anything big. seriously wtf? granted i could've always said "i don't want to hear about it" but then i'd be a bitch. also... granted i am a bitch, but i don't want to come off as one. i fucking hate that chick (alia).

i want my god damn day off already. tomorrow's gonna suck. i can feel it already....

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!