Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2009-11-23 - 5:24 p.m.

this is depressing in a nerdy/love sick kind of way.

i was kotaku (a gaming blog -- thats the nerdy part) reading about other people's in-a-video-game sports memories and i remembered one of my own. it wasn't really my own, but i like to think i played a major part in it happening.

(now the love sick part) it was when i was with randi, we were at her house playing madden in the living room. i can still see the blue carpet, their new big screen TV, and the lighting of the room. the game was ncaa football 2005 (i'm pretty sure it's 2005).

she was playing hawaii vs lsu @ death valley. hawaii should've been walked all over because i think that was the year they introduced "toughest places to play" and i think LSU was ranked #1 that year too.

like i said, hawaii had no business in that game.

what i remember most about that game was the very end.

all game long, when randi needed one or two yards, fullback dive out of the goal line set was two-yards every singe time.

down by a TD, randi guided UH behind qb#14 (timmy chang), wr#2 (chad owens), and fb#16 (west keliikipi) down the field. i forget what the play was that scored the td, that wasn't what was important. the glory of our game came when she was ready to kick the PAT.

she was asking me "what should i do?!" with actual concern in her voice. "Do i go for the extra point and go to overtime? or do i go for the win?"

"what do you mean 'what do i do?'" i asked almost incredulously. "fullback dive!"

"but what if i don't get it?"

"it's been working for you all game!"

"ahhh!!! okay! i'm gonna do it!"

so she called the play, and on fullback dive, all you do is snap the ball and hold X (we were playing on a ps2) and pray for your two-yards.

she snapped the ball and qb#14 turns around and hands the ball to fb#16...

two-point conversion is good! hawaii wins on the road at death valley!

it was the greatest game in ncaa football history as far as i'm concerned.

i don't know if anyone who reads this can fully appreciate the greatness of that moment, but i honestly feel like that was one of the better moments of our relationship.

i don't want anyone to think i'm not over randi either, because i honestly know i am, but it's also impossible to ignore 4 years of your life. especially when a lot of what's important in your life is because of the things from when you were with her.

in other news, i think i'm back into my running again. i haven't seriously been running in like three weeks. i told myself that i was going to run no matter what. last night i did six-miles, part of it in the rain, and it reminded me why i loved running. i actually caught myself running faster as i day dreamed. i love running because it makes me feel better about myself.

something tells me that alia and her bf are having problems. she saw me walking past yesterday and she was talking to some of her buddies from maile's bistro and she told me happy belated birthday. she's seen me since then but didn't figure to say anything till now, so i think it was her way of trying to say "see, i still remember about you."

i know i missed her b-day too (gail even said something about it to me), but i didn't say anything about it back to her. i want her to think "he doesn't remember."

i also got into a fight with carlie over my birthday and the triple-date dinner from a long ass time ago.

we were eating lunch and i was having a kinda bad day because i was tired. i spilled some soda in her car on the way home and she got really pissy about it and started complaing about it while i was cleaning it off her plastic mat. i took it really badly where i was just in a foul mood after that and she wasn't helping much either. anyway, it ended up where the two of us weren't talking to each other by the end of the car ride and we haven't spoken since.

i explained myself in an email and she responded to me once saying that a lot of it was because i called her a bitch to the other managers who we went to dinner with.

she thinks i was wrong to call her a bitch to them. she was having a bad night and didn't think that they were much fun either. she felt that chelsey was giving of a bad vibe towards her and she also thought that they were just boring.

you know what? we're all adults, none of that matters because they're my co-workers and i need to work with them every day for the rest of my career with gamestop. she doesn't get that. what she showed them comes back and reflects on me. she thinks it only reflects on her? no. i'm sick of people thinking "i don't need to give a shit what people think about me because i am who i am." that's horse shit and everyone knows it. what you do affects you because other people's decisions are based on how you present yourself. on top of that, the way you act around other people associated with you has consequences for those people too. grow up carlie and learn that. when i went to your work place and sat down to talk to your co-workers, i played nice even if i didn't know them or really care who they were because i get it that how i act will affect how your co-workers percieve me and how the talk to you about me and who your friends are. dont be stupid and think none of that shit matters.

so yeah, when she told me that it was because of something i did, i wasn't incensed, but i wasn't happy either. i also realized that every time something happens between us, it's always me that has to be the first to say something. i don't feel like i should be the one this time. i don't know if i even want to be friends with her until she gets her head on straight and figures out how to be an adult.

angriness aside, it doesn't feel like black friday is this week. maybe it's just because nothing could compare to the stress of last year.

either that or i'm just jaded about work.

i've got an issue with daigle calling me out about my payroll. he supposedly said something about my store getting more payroll than his and that he deserves more than me. i've never ever made a point to attack someone else, no matter how unfair the situation is to me. i'll ask if there's anything i can get as long as it doesn't impact another person adversely. what good does it do to complain and have something taken away from one of your collegues? i'm not going to call him out back or anything, but i'm just going to quietly do my thing and we'll see how things play out.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!