Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2013-11-17 - 10:05 p.m.

I've been doing the online dating thing for a few years now. I still haven't actually gotten further than a few meet-ups. No relationships. It's not something that I think has really worked out for me. Does it mean that I'm going to stop doing it? No, because where else am I going to meet people? I work in a mostly male industry, I rarely leave the office, and I don't know how to approach girls smoothly.

Mari still hasn't called/texted me. It's been like two weeks. I'm assuming she's just not interested at this point. That one kind of feels like a let down because I thought she would. Ed told me she was interested. I thought she was interested too when I went to go ask her out too. Idk, maybe she still hasn't transfered her contacts into her replacement phone like she said, but then again that was a week ago today. Which was a week after I initally approached her. Eh, fuck it. I don't think she's going to text already.

And then there was the girl at the bank. Don't ever deposit a check larger than the balance of your savings account and then give the teller your phone number and expect her to call you. It doesn't work like that. #LessonsLearned

But I guess this is how dating goes, right? Ask out 10 girls, even if nine say no, one might say yes. But jesus it really sucks when you embarass yourself the way I constantly do. Especially because I like to embarass myself by putting myself on blast.

But it's not all so terrible in the land of me.

Miles quit (and so did Wayne), and before they left they wanted me to go with them to start a new lighting department with them. I was originally going to go but had a change of heart. I'm glad I stayed. After taking over some of his jobs, it's made me realize how full of shit he is. He's a good talker, but he doesn't always come through with his boasts and it's obvious he doesn't know what he's doing when he throws numbers out of his head. I think I can be as good as he was knowledge wise without being so shoddy about the paperwork. I also know you don't have to be combative to get your way with people. I'm not afraid to do what I do anymore either. He's charismatic in the same way that I think people who are shitty partners are. They get you to drink their kool-aid but when you're able to step back, you realize how full of shit they are. I think I'll be all right doing things on my own. I think I've also impressed Barb and Garret with how I'm addopting to being my own salesman and taking care of problems. I mean, I'm sure there's going to be mistakes made and money lost, but it happens to everyone.

I can't wait to see how things progress for me though. Maybe I'll finally start getting things together in my personal life too now that I'm getting settled professionally.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!