Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-27 - 10:55 p.m.

so yup, i closed last night. judah had me sweep, vacum, and straighten the books. it's a better deal then auditing cash registers though.

hmm... what else is there?

today, i stuck stickers that told people not to open the bags of naked magazines. my co-worker, ellen, told me to put them over the naughty places so that people can't see inside of them so that they have to buy it instead. i thought that was funny.

jessica, the other person who started on the same day as me, is 25 years old, which makes her one of the oldest people there. i've taken to calling her grandma.

last night, i had 5 voids in my first 20 minutes on register. four of those were on two customers (two apiece).

i still need to write my research paper for english (2nd draft due on wednesday). i also still need to review my math.

school sucks. working isn't so bad though. even if i feel like a moron for not knowing how to do things that've been explained to me a bunch of times.

customers are retarded. one old as stone lady came in today asking if we had cassettes, so i told her we had CDs. she said "okay." so i took her to our tiny music section with about 30-40 CDs. she goes "oh no! these are DV... whatever you call them! blah blah blah." and her friend came over there asking "don't you have something i can watch? i thought you had something for us to see! blah blah blah." i told her that we don't carry videos or anything like that. this is the stupid part. she starts muttering "unbelievable! unbelieveable!" as if it's an abomination that a fucking BOOK store doesn't carry videos. so i politely told them to get their fucking asses to Sam Goody's to go check out their selection. the lady actually left the store still muttering "unbelievable!"

and yesterday, a girl came in asking if we had books with black magic. i took her to the section and she asked if we had a book that could get a guy to like her. so i picked up a book that had "spells" in it, looked up "love spells" and gave it to her. she asked me if it actually worked. i told her "sure. i'm using it on one of my co-workers right now." and she asked if i was serious, to which i replied "no." and then she went off on this story about how her friend said it works because her boyfriend didn't call her, so she cast a spell on him and he called her that night, blah blah blah. she didn't actually buy the book, but meh, whatever. got me off the register for a few minutes.

i'm sure i'll have more interesting stories later on.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!