Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2000-11-30 - 02:12:12

Y'know... its been about 2 minutes since my last entry, but i just realized how bored i am and how little i have to look up on the internet. so i guess, as i stated in my other entry from today, i will post my observational essay since i am so bored. so, here goes.

***

The Smile and Wave that Shook the World! (Mine at least)

The following is a non-fictional account of a three-second event that shook the world, Ryan's world. All names have been changed due to legal purposes with the exception of the author, Ryan Okuno. And now I will begin.

It was either the 23rd or the 24th of November, just afer lunch, so I would say about 1:06 P.M. The sun was out and shnning down upon the students of Roosevelt Complex without mercy. The only thought I had running through my mind was getting to Psychology class with most of my bodily fluids not soaked into my clothes.

As I was walking with my ROTC friends, Bryan, Dayson, TIffanie, and Taka, I looked to my front left, at about 11 o'clock, I noticed the girl whome i still reffered to by her given name at the time, walking in the opposite direction. So there I was, walking by Mr. Inouye's class on the drive way between A and C buliding figuring "Hey, there she is, oh well. Ain't nothing gonna happen." And all the while I'm thinking this, she notices me and while holding her red jacket, i assume she got from cross country season, she cocks her head to the (her) left a tiny bit and smiles and waves.

While mentally dumbstruck, I dio manage to maintain my physical calmness. I was able to let out a small smile, which is the most one can get out of me, and a wave such as the one she made at me.

Later on that night, upon reflecting upon the situation, I came to the realization that that smile and wave meant a lot more to me than I first thought. Then it scared me that it did mean so much. Then, out of no where, but to possibly supplement the fear, I realized that I have never once heard her voice.

From that point on, it is an entirely new story. In fact, she even recieved a new name due to the new circumstances. She was re-chirstened "Smile/Wave Girl."

I hope that this story of Observation has done my purpose justice. It may not have hit par with the physical observations, but seeing as this is a first hand account, I think that the mental observations ahve been doen justice for the three-second time period that this observation took place. If there are any further writting assignments, perhaps i will continue with this story. But that is for the future.

***

well, that was my observational essay. Ms. Lusk said that my ending was kinda boring. i guess she has a point. it didnt have that same paz-zaz as the previous paragraphs. and brooke said that it could use a little more detail. but she said "good writing it was clear, but if i were to change something it would be a little more detal. it was funny for some reason." and that was part of my purpose, to tell my story in a funny manner. so i guess i accomplished part of what i wanted to do without even trying. well, y'all tell me what you have to say about my essay. i really would appreciate the feed back.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!