Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-01-08 - 1:41 a.m.

okay, remember how my car was broken? first the radiator blew a hole in itself, then the thermostat wouldn't open, and finally i had warped the heads. if you didn't know that, then now you know. well, i had all of those problems fixed. first i had the radiator replaced, then i changed the thermostat, and finally i had the head machined. the last part happened just this past week and i just got the car back yesterday (the 6th--i know, the date at the top says the 8th but it still feels like the 7th). so i was happy as a pig in shit that i got my car back, and it should be entirely fixed absolutely no more overheating problems.

well, you can see where this is going, can't you?

i'm in kaneohe picking dhyani up so we can go see a movie. i'm on kahekili highway heading towards windward mall when i smell something vaguely familiar. i look at the temperature gauge (which i have become very familiar with) and i can't fucking believe my eyes. the stupid thing is overheating, so i pull over and pop the hood and what do i see? the engine bay looks exactly like it did when the car first started giving me trouble. it looks awfully familiar like when my first radiator blew a hole in itself. i don't know if you guys remember, but i accidentally over-filled the coolant fluid, but when i checked the fluid level, it was a lot less than i remember it being, and not to mention the whole engine bay was slick with what appeared to be coolant too.

i don't fucking get it! it's a brand new radiator! things like this shouldn't happen!

so yeah, i just looked at it, walked over to dhyani's side and sat down on the railing and told her what the deal was. i told her that i'd have to call for a tow from AAA, and that i was sorry for screwing up the night's plans. so i called AAA, explained where i was and the tow dispatcher said that it'd take about 50 minutes to get out to where i was. so dhyani stayed with me, we sat on the railing outside the car until i started to rain, and she called her mom to pick her up from the side of the road; she got there about the same time the tow truck did. the driver towed me home and pushed my car into the stall while i got my check book. $48, not too bad i guess.

but yeah, while i was sitting outside waiting for the tow truck, i told dhyani that i was afraid to go home because i knew somehow i'd get a lecture from my dad about something. i was right. it wasn't about the car. i think he's more pissed at the service station for this happening, but he was pissed at me when i said i wanted to just quit school for the semester and work full time because i need the money and i'm getting sick of school.

my whole life is just turning into one big mis-adventure. it's not the adventures of ryan, it's the mis-adventures of ryan. what i wouldn't give for a boring life at this point. one where nothing happened. it'd be nice to know what to expect for once.

but you know what i realized tonight? my mom was talking about how she doesn't want me to lose the momentum i have in school, but i have no momentum. i'm just treading water really, and thats part of the reason why i'm single right now. i haven't gone anywhere in the past four years. so maybe quiting school is a step in the right direction. it's at least going to be something new for me.

so yeah, my whole life... changing all in about a month. and i really don't know if it's changing for the better. but hey, what can a guy do, right? what's going to happen is going to happen. how ever i turn up after all this finally ends is how it was all meant to be.

Previously on - Currentlier

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!